OSU v. Columbia (Wrestling)

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.
Aug 11, 2004
Enid, OK
www.faulklawfirm.com
So when I was a freshman at OSU, a girl I knew from HS called and asked if I wanted to go to a date party at Austin. I said sure, and thought, I'm going to get to check out UT and all the cool stuff in Austin. When I asked her for directions, it was to Sherman, TX (Austin College). Talk about a letdown. However, I did end up dating her roommate for like 3 months, so there's that. Anyway, that's what I first thought when I saw Columbia on the schedule for Sunday at 10 AM (CST), on ESPN+ - a dual between Mizzou and WVU on the same day? Woah. I very quickly realized that couldn't be the case and had to see what "Columbia" we were wrestling. Come to find out, it's the smart ones! The Columbia University Lions are an EIWA conference program. They are the opposite of a storied program, as they have had one top 4 conference finish in the last 20 years, and their last All American was in 2013. They are 1-1 on the year, with a 46-0 win over Long Island University and a 34-3 drubbing by #4 Michigan. They competed in the prestigious Cliff Keen Tournament at the beginning of December and had one guy finish 7th, 165 pounder Josh Ogunsanya. As we can see by their wrestlers, while they may not be title contenders, they aren't like ridiculously bad either. Will be a good warm up for West Virginia a couple hours later. Here's the expected lineups (with the caveat that COVID could change them significantly)

125: #12 Trevor Mastrogiovanni (8-0) v. #27 Joe Manchio (7-2)
133: #1 Daton Fix (8-0) v. #30 Angelo Rini (13-2)
141: #35 Carter Young (5-1) v. #21 Matthew Kazimir (12-1)
149: #10 Kaden Gfeller (6-1) v. #108 Danny Fongaro (12-8)
157: #17 Wyatt Sheets (7-1) v. #43 Kyle Mosher (5-4) or #34 Andrew Garr (8-2)