Landon Wolf enters transfer portal

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.
Jul 25, 2018
Boulder, CO
Best of luck to him wherever he goes.

I also have to sit back & laugh thinking about how many coaches warned us how the grad transfer rule was going to be such a terrible thing.

Aug 19, 2006
One of my favorite players. Disappointing as I was hoping he'd return for his super senior year but don't want to read too much into it. Maybe he just wanted to go somewhere he had a shot at being a featured receiver. He certainly earned that opportunity during his time at OSU.

If I was a college coach right now, this open transfer stuff would scare me out of the profession. How do you plan for the potential of 18-22 year olds just deciding to bail out because they believe the grass is going to be greener somewhere else. Do you approach player development differently now because its easier for younger guys to jump ship instead of competing and waiting their turn?

For example, how does Gundy prepare for the possibility that Illingworth or Sanders decides after Spring ball to leave because they want to be the "man"? Now your only viable backup option is Bullock??

I'm not saying scholarship athletes shouldn't be allowed to transfer but this feels like a very slippery slope.

Aug 19, 2006
One of my favorite players. Disappointing as I was hoping he'd return for his super senior year but don't want to read too much into it. Maybe he just wanted to go somewhere he had a shot at being a featured receiver. He certainly earned that opportunity during his time at OSU.