Tips for Preparing for the CPA Exam

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

pokelahoman

Keeper of the Cursive Script
Aug 31, 2009
Edmond
I am a full-time accountant (B.S. Accounting and Minor in Economics OSU 2010) and taking night classes towards my M.S. in Accounting in Oklahoma City. I will be finishing the program either this coming summer or next fall, but the last 2 semesters consist of Ethics and 3 electives, so I should have a little more free time than lately.

I figured I should begin thinking about the CPA exam. I had planned on studying for about a semester after I graduate, but any headstart on the process couldn't hurt. Does anyone have any opinions on which courses are the best or whether it is best to go the live class route or self-study route? If I did self-study I could begin in my free time now, but if the classes are a much better route I'd rather wait.

pokelahoman

Aug 31, 2009
Edmond
Just to expand on this. After looking at some information I think I've decided to start the application process over winter break so I can sit for at least 2 parts in July. This would give me spring to browse and most of May/all of June to study. If anyone who has been through this process thinks all 4 parts in July would be possible let me know.

cowboyethics344

Federal Marshal
Apr 2, 2008
I am a full-time accountant (B.S. Accounting and Minor in Economics OSU 2010) and taking night classes towards my M.S. in Accounting in Oklahoma City. I will be finishing the program either this coming summer or next fall, but the last 2 semesters consist of Ethics and 3 electives, so I should have a little more free time than lately.