Easter Brisket

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

sc5mu93

WeaselMonkey
A/V Subscriber
Oct 18, 2006
Fairfield, CT
I think I have the basics identified, but this is my first attempt so any comments would be welcome. I've done almost exclusively pork ribs in the past with great success. This is also my first attempt at not only brisket but beef.

I have a 12lb prime packers cut brisket (before trimming) I am going to smoke this upcoming weekend for Easter.
Pretty much, low and slow. I'm going to keep the smoker at 200-220F, for 1 hour and 15 minutes per pound. I like the flavor of mesquite, but I know it can be harsh - so should I throw anything else in?

I'm going to do the mustard/rub over night. Is there anything special to this? How should I store the meat overnight? I have a food saver/vacuum sealer - would that be good or is it overkill?

Internets opinion seems split on the following items. I figure - if there is a split - it really doesn't matter that much, but I thought I would ask here:
  • Fat cap up or down?
  • Mop or not?

Any other comments?

OrangeSpidey

Einstein
A/V Subscriber
Dec 11, 2004
Edmond, OK
I have turned out some great briskets lately. My thoughts:

What kind of smoker are you using? Logs or chunks of wood with charcoal?

Mesquite gets bitter for long smokes, so maybe only do a couple of chunks and use mostly oak or hickory.

I'm not sure there will be much benefit to doing overnight rub. For pork or poultry it is great but with a tough cut like brisket, I don't think it does much. But, it doesn't hurt anything either.