College students support free speech — unless it offends them

• You are viewing Orangepower as a Guest. To start new threads, reply to posts, or participate in polls or contests - you must register. Registration is free and easy. Click Here to register.

RxCowboy

Has no Rx for his orange obsession.
A/V Subscriber
Nov 8, 2004
Wishing I was in Stillwater
From WashPo:
College students support free speech — unless it offends them

By Jeffrey J. Selingo March 12 at 12:01 AM Email the author

When I was a sophomore in college, the College Republicans invited Phyllis Schlafly, the conservative political activist best known for her campaign against ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment, to give a speech on campus. There were no barricades around the building where she spoke. Beyond a few campus police officers, there were no state police in riot gear. Bags weren’t checked at the entrance. And most of all, no one shouted her down on one of the most liberal college campuses in the country.

Compare that with the scenes that have played out on campuses over the past year at the University of Virginia, the College of William & Mary and the University of California at Berkeley, among others, where appearances by controversial speakers resulted in protests with armed police officers reminiscent of a war zone, with students doing their best to interrupt speakers — all at a great cost to some cash-strapped universities. The University of California at Berkeley said a visit last fall by the conservative writer Ben Shapiro cost more than $600,000 in preparations and security. (The university system agreed to cover half that bill.) By the way, the university ended the fiscal year with a $77 million deficit.